top of page

Merrily We Roll Along releases Broadway Revival Cast Recording

Wednesday, 15 November 2023

It started out like a song... And now the Merrily We Roll Along Broadway revival is getting a cast album. Sony Masterworks Broadway and the producers of the revival of Stephen Sondheim and George Furth's Merrily We Roll Along have announced the New Broadway Cast Recording is now available to listen to digitally. 

Directed by Olivier Award winner Maria Friedman, Merrily We Roll Along features music and lyrics by Stephen Sondheim, and a book by George Furth. The Broadway revival officially opened October 10, after beginning performances September 19. It has since been breaking box office records at the Hudson Theatre. The limited run is set to continue through March 24, 2024. 

The physical CD for Merrily will be released January 12, 2024, and is available for pre-order here. The recording includes new liner notes from Friedman and former New York Times theatre critic Ben Brantley. See the album art below.

The tracklist is as follows:

  1. Overture

  2. Merrily We Roll Along

  3. That Frank

  4. First Transition

  5. Old Friends — Like It Was

  6. Franklin Shepard, Inc.

  7. Second Transition

  8. Old Friends

  9. Growing Up

  10. Third Transition

  11. Not a Day Goes By (Intro)

  12. Not a Day Goes By

  13. Now You Know

  14. Gussie's Opening Number

  15. It's a Hit!

  16. Fourth Transition

  17. The Blob - Part I

  18. Growing Up (Reprise)

  19. Good Thing Going

  20. The Blob - Part II

  21. Fifth Transition

  22. Bobby and Jackie and Jack

  23. Not a Day Goes By (Reprise)

  24. Sixth Transition

  25. Opening Doors

  26. Seventh Transition

  27. Our Time

Merrily We Roll Along’s initial short run may have been nothing but a footnote in the illustrious career of Stephen Sondheim without the preservation of his amazing score on the Original Broadway Cast Recording,” said Scott Farthing, EVP of Sony Masterworks U.S., in a statement. “How amazing that over 40 years later, Masterworks Broadway had the opportunity to memorialize the musical’s celebrated new revival to live alongside the iconic original album.”

Based on the George S. Kaufman and Moss Hart play by the same name, Merrily We Roll Along tracks the lives of three friends navigating the entertainment industry over three decades in reverse chronological order. Sondheim's score includes such songs as "Old Friends," "Now You Know," "Franklin Shepard, Inc.," "Good Thing Going," and "Not a Day Goes By."

The new Broadway cast recording is produced by David Caddick, David Lai, Joel Fram, and Maria Friedman. The album was recorded and mixed by Ian Kagey at Berklee at PowerStationNYC and Renaissance Recording NY.

Featured on the album are Daniel Radcliffe as Charley Kringas, Jonathan Groff as Franklin Shepard, Lindsay Mendez as Mary Flynn, Krystal Joy Brown as Gussie Carnegie, Katie Rose Clarke as Beth Shepard, and Reg Rogers as Joe Josephson. Max Rackenberg and Brady Wagner are sharing the role of Frank Jr.

The cast also includes Calvin James Davis, Sherz Aletaha, Maya Boyd, Leana Rae Concepcion, Ken KrugmanCorey MachTalia Simone RobinsonJamila Sabares-KlemmBrian Sears, Evan Alexander Smith, Christian StrangeVishal Vaidya, Natalie Wachen, and Jacob Keith Watson. Rounding out the company as swings are Morgan KirnerAmanda Rose, and Koray Tarhan. Casting is by Jim Carnahan and Jason Thinger.

The production features choreography by Tim Jackson and orchestrations by Jonathan Tunick. Scenic and costume design is by Soutra Gilmour, with lighting design by Amith Chandrashaker, sound design by Kai Harada, hair and wig design by Cookie Jordan, music supervision by Catherine Jayes, music direction by Joel Fram, associate music supervision by Alvin Hough, Jr., and music coordination by Kristy Norter.

bottom of page