top of page

Merrily We Roll Along announces "Rooftop Writers Initiative"

Wednesday, 17 January 2024

The critically acclaimed, first-ever Broadway revival of Stephen Sondheim and George Furth’s MERRILY WE ROLL ALONG is proud to announce the Rooftop Writers Initiative, in partnership with the Stephen Sondheim Foundation and American Theatre Wing’s Jonathan Larson Grant. The Rooftop Writers Initiative will select 100 young writers to receive two complimentary tickets to a special performance of MERRILY WE ROLL ALONG on Thursday, February 29, 2023, followed by a talkback with the cast.

In honor of the Rooftop Writers Initiative, a percentage of proceeds from a special MERRILY WE ROLL ALONG pen sold at the Hudson Theatre merchandise stands and online will be donated directly to the Stephen Sondheim Foundation and American Theatre Wing’s Jonathan Larson Grant.

For more information on the Rooftop Writers Initiative, including contest rules and conditions, and to submit for consideration, please visit

Established after his passing, the Stephen Sondheim Foundation is the largest single beneficiary of future royalties from Sondheim’s work. It aims to aid emerging playwrights, composers, and lyricists working in the theatre during the early stages of their careers by assisting financially in the development and advancement of their careers.

The American Theatre Wing’s Jonathan Larson Grants are awarded annually to exceptional, early-career musical theatre composers, lyricists, and librettists, or writing teams. Recipients are given a platform to amplify stories and free rein in the application of the grant – which serves as pivotal support to take their professional development to the next level and, in many cases, their work from creative concept to stage. The grants regularly serve as an indicator of who will be the next great theater-makers and culture-shapers, and past recipients include such luminaries as Pasek & Paul (Dear Evan Hansen), Michael R. Jackson (A Strange Loop), Shaina Taub (Suffs), Chad Beguelin and Matt Sklar (The Prom, Elf), Amanda Green (Bring it On, Mr. Saturday Night), Nell Benjamin (Mean Girls, Legally Blonde), Matt Gould (Lempicka, Invisible Thread), Laurence O’Keefe (Heathers, Legally Blonde), Dave Malloy (The Great Comet), Nathan Tysen (Paradise Square), Steven Lutvak (A Gentleman’s Guide), Glenn Slater (Sister Act, School of Rock), Joe Iconis (Be More Chill), Kait Kerrigan (The Great Gatsby), Bree Lowdermilk (The Mad Ones), and more. 

Starring Daniel Radcliffe as Charley Kringas, Jonathan Groff as Franklin Shepard, and Lindsay Mendez as Mary Flynn, MERRILY WE ROLL ALONG also features Krystal Joy Brown as Gussie Carnegie, Katie Rose Clarke as Beth Shepard, and Reg Rogers as Joe Josephson. The company currently includes Calvin James Davis, Max Rackenberg, Brady Wagner, Sherz Aletaha, Maya Boyd, Leana Rae Concepcion, Morgan Kirner, Ken Krugman, Corey Mach, Talia Simone Robinson, Amanda Rose, Jamila Sabares-Klemm, Brian Sears, Evan Alexander Smith, Christian Strange, Koray Tarhan, Vishal Vaidya, Natalie Wachen, and Jacob Keith Watson.

MERRILY WE ROLL ALONG is directed by multi-Olivier Award® winner Maria Friedman, features music & lyrics by Stephen Sondheim, a book by George Furth, and is based on the original play by George S. Kaufman & Moss Hart. MERRILY WE ROLL ALONG officially opened on Tuesday, October 10, 2023.

bottom of page